Tuesday, September 19, 2006

Ticoland - Costa Rica pt.1

'Hey man, you speak English?'
'Sometimes.'
'Ha ha ha. My name's Carlito, what's your name, man?'
'Aeon.'
'Nice to meet you, man. Where you from, man?'
'Lake Tahoe.'
'Oh, that's cool, man. I went to university in Berkeley 1974. Hey, listen... you want to go to a sexy show w/ good looking girls with no clothes on, man?'
'No, thanks. Dinner was more what I had in mind.'
'Okay man. You're sure, man?'
'Yup.'
'Where you staying, man?'
'Tranquilo Backpackers.'
'Ohhhhh, that's down near where the transvestites hang around.'
'Yup, it sure is.'
'You watch out for dem bitches man, they sneaky.'
Thank you Carlito - I'll make sure I watch out around the 'sneaky bitches' I thought to myself as I walked away to find some food.

This was my introduction to San Jose, Costa Rica.

Of course, it wasn't the very FIRST thing I experienced here. There's always that bit of culture that's just a little different and catches your eye right away. Example: in big American cities taxi cabs are yellow; in Germany they are tan Mercedes Benzes; India, a 3 wheeled Rickshaw; Costa Rica? Red Toyota Corollas or Hyundai Elantra.

San Jose is an alright place. Not a LOT to do here, but it's not entirely bad. Sure, transvestite prostitutes hang out a block and a half from my hostel, but I figure if I don't bother them they won't kidnap and torture or rape me.

I first arrived last week and met Lulu at the airport and we made our way to the hostel. I met her friend and we all planned a day in SJ to see the Gold/Jade museum (world famous and highly recommended) and a few other things in SJ before making our way elsewhere in CR. Photos to come soon, I promise.
So Lulu, Marjorie and I made our way to the Caribbean coast to a small town called Cahuita which is right next to Cahuita Nat'l Park - famous for its beautiful beaches. If only it weren't 'invierno' (winter) now we would have actually been in the sun! It doesn't feel like winter here - it's plenty warm - the Ticos (Costa Ricans) just call it winter because it's the rainy season.
I didn't actually see the sun until my 5th day in CR (yesterday). Naturally, it was the day I went white-water rafting - sans sunblock. I should have bought some, but didn't think of it because I hadn't considered we'd actually be in the sunshine. Stupid Aeon; tsk tsk tsk. Now I'm sporting a very goofy sunburn that's in the shape of the life jacket I wore all day and as a bonus the only parts of my legs that got that much direct sunlight were my thighs. Naked, I look completely idiotic. No photos - you're going to have to trust me on this.

So now I'm in San Jose, again, to have my camera repaired (Insh'allah) at the Canon service center while Lulu and Marjorie continue on to Bocas del Toro (the Mouth of the Bull), Panama and then on to the Pacific coast of CR where I'll meet them somewhere on the Peninsula de Osas in the next couple of days.

Until I meet them there - I'm going to watch out for them sneaky transvestites, man!